Skip to content

Post no. 62 (Of teen parties and sex education Part III)

November 28, 2011

I have never attended a “teen party” in my life, but I’ve seen some pictures. Admittedly some of the girls photographed are more than half way through on the road to becoming young women. They may be aware of some changes going on in their bodies – perhaps their minds, even – but they shouldn’t be allowed to behave themselves like that. What I mean is that their behaviour is a product – perhaps even a synergy – of influences that are not necessarily beyond parents’ control.

Let me clarify. I can’t control when puberty sets in. I can’t control what thoughts run through my sons’ heads. But I can control what my sons see, what they hear and I can teach them how to sift and analyse information. When they begin to feel the first stirrings, then, I will make sure that they would have heard at least that this is a phase, that it’s one of the strongest instincts they’ll experience and that it should be taken with a “pinch of salt”. They’ll know that the last thing they’d want to do would be to act indiscriminately on any impulse they may be feeling at the moment.

Friends, the internet, media and who knows what else will be available when I’ll  have to cross this bridge (my wife too, if she’ll bear with me 🙂 ) will definitely make for an interesting obstacle race. Discipline – as in self control – is the name of the game. We can’t produce strong children if we’re going to give in to their every whim. How can they learn to say “no” if we don’t? We have to instill some sort of “thought” quality control system. (OK, this has to be done across the board, but at the moment I’m only discussing sex education).

I don’t have any statistics at hand, so what I’m going to say next may make people in the know chuckle. I think that undiscriminating  sex education does nothing to decrease unplanned pregnancies; and to really drive my point home, I think that sex education plays a significant part in the apparent increase of teenage pregnancies. Pubescent boys and girls – do you still call them boys and girls? – tend to be experimentative. Sex education is egging them on in this direction. Their first experiments will be embarrassing, fun and, I would imagine, not necessarily heterosexual. A great percentage will want to have a second go of whatever it was they did the first time round. It is only a matter of time before boredom sets in and a new set of tests takes centre stage and so on and so forth. The motivation here is fun. Sex is fun. It’s meant to be. And there you have it.

(Incidentally, I think that this sudden increase in the incidence of homosexual people is directly related to unconsidered sex education. When young adolescents start experimenting, it’s fun they’re after. My idea (one of them, i.e.) is that when they derive sexual pleasure from homosexual sex – i don’t necessarily mean penetration – they won’t need to venture further. This will produce the weird situation where one may not be homosexual “all the way”, but still think that one is homosexual. Obviously this happens because fun has become the goal of sex, not an encouragement.)

Whatever.

The early “sexification” of our children cannot be good news. I don’t think that the current “moral climate” of relativism and solipsism is a phenomenon that is independent of too much sex on the brain :). How can it be, when the goal of our most fundamental biological instinct has been skew(er)ed? Our view has become “fun only and at all costs”. What is more personal than fun?

Toodle-oo.

From → The Gripevine

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

